Where Do We Need to Go From Here?




Recent advances in
language documentation and archiving

Plenary speakers

Valentina Vapnarky

Director of research at the CNRS; Director of studies, chair of Linguistic Anthropology, at the Ecole Pratique des Hautes Etudes

A linguist anthropologist specialized in the study of Maya verbal and written practices in Mexico and Guatemala ; from this experience and her involvment with Wayana people from French Guiana in the SAWA digital repatriation project, she developed reflections on digital returns in Amerindian communities. 

Takurua Parent

PhD student at Université de la Polynésie française


First-year PhD student in descriptive linguistics, studying the grammatical characteristics of the Rapa language in French Polynesia. Her raw field materials (sound recordings) are deposited on a new database: Anareo, which she will be presenting here.

Conference venue and format

The conference will take place in Berlin, Germany at the Leibniz-Centre General Linguistics and          on Zoom.

In the two days prior to the conference, we will be running training sessions on all aspects of language documentation and preservation including: using metadata tools like Lameta, using transcription tools like ELAN, and to how to choose equipment. 

The conference will be organized around a variety of different means for teaching, sharing, and learning.

Scientific committee

  • Pius Akumbu
    (CNRS Paris)
  • Felix Ameka
    (Leiden University)
  • Aleksandre Arkhipov
    (Hamburg University)
  • Linda Barwick
    (PARADISEC / University of Sydney, Australia)
  • Steven Bird
    (Charles Darwin University)
  • Alexis Michaud
  • Katherine Bolaños
    (University of Zurich)
  • Ana Paula Brandão
    (Federal University of Pará)
  • Gabriela Caballero
    (University of California, San Diego)
  • Onno Crasborn
    (Radboud University, Nijmegen)
  • Gabriela Perez Baez
    (University of Oregon)
  • Patience Epps
    (University of Texas at Austin)
  • James Essegby
    (University of Florida – Gainesville) 
  • Victoria Nyst                                                          (Leiden University)
  • Jeff Good
    (University of Buffalo)
  • Birgit Hellwig
    (University of Cologne)
  • Gary Holton
    (University of Hawai’i Manoa)
  • Jacques Vernaudon
    (University of French Polynesia)
  • Ana Vilacy Galucio
    (Museu Paraense Emílio Goeldi)
  • Roberto Zariquiey
    (Pontifical Catholic University of Peru)
  • Zachary O’Hagan
    (California Language Archive – University of California, Berkeley)


For further information, please email the organizers at langdocinfo@gmail.com.