Where Do We Need to Go From Here?



Conference Info

Plenary speakers

Hermes Sanchez

Fundación Tinigua
Universidad de Antioquia, Colombia
Member of the Cabiyarí group
Vaupés, Colombia

Linda Barwick

University of Sydney, Australia

Conference venue and format

Conference format/venue and the COVID-19 pandemic

Our current plan is for the conference to take place in Berlin, Germany at the Berlin Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities.

During the week leading up to the conference, we will be running training sessions on all aspects of language documentation and preservation including: using metadata tools like Lameta, using transcription tools like ELAN, and to how to choose equipment. We welcome submissions for virtual training sessions and video tutorials. Please see the Trainings page for more information.

The conference will be organized around a variety of different means for teaching, sharing, and learning


Training sessions and tutorials
(software, tools, methods, workflows, special topics)



Registration is free of charge

Important dates

June 15th, 2022

Paper submission

August 1st, 2022

Notification of

October 3-4, 2022

Training dates

October 5-7

Conference dates

Scientific committee

  • Pius Akumbu
    (CNRS Paris)
  • Felix Ameka
    (Leiden University)
  • Aleksandre Arkhipov
    (Hamburg University)
  • Linda Barwick
    (PARADISEC / University of Sydney, Australia)
  • Steven Bird
    (Charles Darwin University)
  • Mary Linn
  • Alexis Michaud
  • Alpheaus Zobule
    (Kulu Language Institute)
  • Katherine Bolaños
    (University of Zurich)
  • Ana Paula Brandão
    (Federal University of Pará)
  • Gabriela Caballero
    (University of California, San Diego)
  • Gladys Camacho
    (University of Texas at Austin)
  • Onno Crasborn
    (Radboud University, Nijmegen)
  • Gabriela Perez Baez
    (University of Oregon)
  • Pamela Perniss
    (University of Cologne)
  • Felix Rau
    (University of Cologne)
  • Patience Epps
    (University of Texas at Austin)
  • James Essegby
    (University of Florida – Gainesville) 
  • Jeff Good
    (University of Buffalo)
  • Birgit Hellwig
    (University of Cologne)
  • Gary Holton
    (University of Hawai’i Manoa)
  • Jacques Vernaudon
    (University of French Polynesia)
  • Ana Vilacy Galucio
    (Museu Paraense Emílio Goeldi)
  • Roberto Zariquiey
    (Pontifical Catholic University of Peru)
  • Zachary O’Hagan
    (California Language Archive – University of California, Berkeley)


For further information, please email the organizers at langdoc2022@gmail.com